NAB to Honor Achievements and Broadcasters’ Community Service

Sterling K. Brown

Cindy Hutter Cavell

Garrison C. Cavell

FCC Chairman Ajit Pai

Rickey Smiley











The “We Are Broadcasters Celebration” is making a second run this year after a successful introduction at the 2018 NAB Show. The event includes the presentation of the NAB TV Chairman’s Award, Crystal Radio Awards and the NAB Engineering Achievement Awards today on the Main Stage.

FCC Chairman Ajit Pai will offer remarks during the event hosted by Rickey Smiley, a top-rated syndicated radio personality and the 2017 recipient of the Marconi Award for Network/ Syndicated Personality of the Year.

This year NAB will present the NAB Television Chairman’s Award to “This Is Us” and “Black Panther” actor Sterling K. Brown. The award recognizes individuals for significant achievements in television.

“Sterling Brown is a remarkably gifted actor who continues to break barriers with the range of characters he portrays on TV and the big screen,” said NAB Television Board Chairman Jordan Wertlieb. “We are honored to recognize Mr. Brown for his acting craft and his ability to connect with audiences of all types.”

Brown received an Emmy and a Golden Globe for his role in “This Is Us,” becoming the first African-American actor to win Best Actor in a TV Series in the Golden Globe’s 75-year history. Brown was also the first African-American actor to receive the SAG Award for Outstanding Male Actor in a Drama, and twice received a SAG award alongside his cast for Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series.

NAB Engineering Achievement Awards are given to individuals who are nominated by their peers for significant contributions to advancing the state of the art in broadcast engineering.

Garrison C. Cavell, president of Cavell, Mertz & Associates Inc., has worked in management and technology positions in radio and television broadcasting for more than 40 years. He will receive the 2019 NAB Radio Engineering Achievement Award. Cindy Hutter Cavell is a senior broadcast consulting engineer at Cavell, Mertz & Associates Inc., with a specialty in television station and microwave system design. She will be awarded the 2019 NAB Television Engineering Achievement Award.

Radio stations provide a lifeline during emergencies, help neighbors in need, keep their communities informed and deliver news and entertainment. NAB will recognize 10 stations for their year-round commitment to community service with the Crystal Radio Awards.

The NAB Crystal Heritage Award, which recognizes radio stations that have won a total of five Crystal Radio Awards for exceptional community service, goes to KFOR-AM of Lincoln, Neb. NAB points out that only seven other stations have received this honor in the 32-year history of the award.

“KFOR AM/FM has proudly served the Lincoln, Neb., region for over 94 years, and our commitment to the community has never wavered,” said Alpha Media Lincoln’s Market Manager Julie Gade.