Tim Wu Headlines Tech Luncheon

From left: Tim Wu, Catherine Badalamente, John Kean, John Lyons

The annual NAB Show celebration of technology will honor those who have made significant contributions to advancing the state of the art of broadcast engineering and played a significant role in transforming a traditional broadcast business to succeed on digital media platforms.

This year the Technology Luncheon will honor Catherine Badalamente of the Graham Media Group, who will receive the Digital Leadership Award; John Kean of Cavell Mertz & Associates, recipient of the NAB Radio Engineering Award; and John Lyons of the Durst Organization, winner of the Television Engineering Award.

Author and law professor Tim Wu will provide the keynote address for today’s NAB Show Technology Luncheon.

Wu, a law professor at Columbia Law School and the director of the Poliak Center for the Study of First Amendment Issues at Columbia Journalism School, has worked for the Federal Trade Commission and clerked for Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer. Wu has written several books, including “The Master Switch” and most recently, “The Attention Merchants.”

He will focus on the innovation cycle as it pertains to some of the most important technologies of the last century, while giving perspective on the evolution of the internet and its associated businesses.

NAB Chief Technology Officer Sam Matheny said, “Tim Wu provides in-depth and thoughtful examinations of the continual innovation of communication channels and how people share information in both of his bestselling books… We look forward to him sharing his perspective with NAB Show attendees at this year’s Technology Luncheon.”

The recipient of the Digital Leadership Award, Catherine Badalamente, is the vice president for digital media of the Graham Media Group, a TV station group owner. Graham is also the publisher of the Social News Desk app for newsrooms. Badalamente is the chair of the NAB Digital Officer Committee and is on the board of the Local Media Association.

John Kean spent decades on the technology side at National Public Radio, achieving an influential role in the radio industry as a leader at NPR Labs. Kean has previously won numerous industry technology awards. He’s worked for Jules Cohen & Associates, Moffet, Larson & Johnson, and, currently, Cavell Mertz & Associates. Kean is a past chairman of the IEEE Broadcast Symposium and the Washington, D.C. Section of the Audio Engineering Society.

John Lyons is another familiar face to many NAB Show attendees. He is a key cog in the Durst Organization, a leading real estate management firm in New York City. Durst’s holdings include several major broadcast transmission sites that Lyons, as assistant vice president and director of broadcast communications, oversees.

Lyons earned industry attention as a leader in getting New York City broadcasters quickly back on the air after the loss of the World Trade center broadcast facilities on Sept. 11, 2001.

Recipients of the 2017 NAB Technology Innovation Award and BEITC Best Paper Award will also be announced at the Technology Luncheon.